Friday, September 21, 2018
You are here: Isle of Man > Isle of Man News
Isle of Man News
General News
Department of Health and Social Security Awards Ceremonies 4 July 2005

    Colleagues, friends and families celebrated the educational achievements of staff in health care at its Award Ceremonies on Monday.

    At the morning event, staff achieving NVQ awards in Care, Operating Department Support, Promoting Independence, Diagnostic and Therapeutic Support. Six members of staff achieved the Assessor Award (A1) to qualify them to support others through NVQ assessments and a further one completed the Internal verifier Award.

    The Minister for Health and Social Security Hon Steve Rodan, M.H.K. presented the awards and later said,

    “I am delighted and extremely proud to have presented these awards. As a Department, we strongly encourage the personal development of all our staff and the achievements of this year’s recipients are exemplary. Highly trained and qualified members of staff such as these will ensure that the Department of Health and Social Security will continue to provide the best possible service to the public.”

    At the afternoon event, Dorothy Marriss, Dean, School of Health and Social Care and Deputy Principal, University College Chester presented pre-registration nursing students who have completed their initial nurse training with their Diploma of Higher Education in Nursing Studies.

    Dr Chris Wibberley of Manchester Metropolitan University presented the awards Diploma of Higher Education in Health Studies and the MA Post Compulsory Education to post-registration students.

    With glorious weather and enthusiasm from all concerned, the day represented a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the achievements of staff across the Department.

    NVQ Awards: Care Level 2: Dawn Cameron, Lorraine Reeves, Roy Corlett, Emeline Sealey-Antoine, Libbi Elliott, Julie Shaw, Melissa Gilbert, Christine Swindells, Lauren Gray, Marie Wells.

    Operating Department Support Level 2: Wendy Thake. Care Level 3: Pauline Comber, Patricia Hughes, Alison Mitchell, Anne Rice, Helen Skillicorn.

    Promoting Independence Level 3: Lorraine Brown Claire Campbell, Yvonne Cowley

    Diagnostic and Therapeutic Support Level 3: Anne Mann

    Care Level 4: Elaine Fitton, Dee Notman, Margaret Sibcy, Judy Stephen

    Assessor Award 7317-01 (A1): Michael Fuller, Amanda Jackson, Laurienne Lawrence, Judith Logan, Sandra Nixon, Joanne Smith, Elizabeth Whitty.

    Internal Verifier: Denise Nelson.

    Diploma of Higher Education in Nursing Studies: Karen De Santis, Clare Fitzpatrick, Hannah Greaves, Lisa Hall, Kim Keable, Emily Killey, Helen Kinrade, Jennifer May, Colin McCabe, Alison O’Hare, Susan Stewart, Lorraine Stoddart, Laura Tonks, Bridget Whelan.

    Higher Education in Health Studies: Linda Cain, Alison Duff, Jason Glover, Ellen Gray, Anne Gurney, Sally Hargreaves, Pauline Keenan, Claire Osborne, Janet Thommeny, Tracey Whitmore

    MA Post Compulsory Education: Voirrey Kewley

    For further information contact: Jacqueline Yates, Head of Learning, Education and Training Centre, Keyll Darree

    4th July 2005

    More stories >>>  

    Other Guides by Maxima Systems Ltd: Disney World