Thursday, September 20, 2018
You are here: Isle of Man > Isle of Man News
Isle of Man News
General News
Port St Mary harbour improvement scheme 16 February 2007

A consultation group has been formed to develop a scheme that would improve harbour facilities at Port St Mary Harbour.

The inaugural meeting of the group, hosted by the Department of Transport, took place on Wednesday, 14th February 2007 in Port St Mary Commissioners’ Office.

The group involves a wide spectrum of harbour users and community representatives, and is tasked with acting as a steering group to determine what opportunities there are for the Harbour and how it might be developed. The group will also liaise with the soon-to-be-appointed Project Manager.

Director of Harbours Mike Brew said:

‘We need to look after our infrastructure and extending the life of the Alfred Pier for the next 50 to 100 years is foremost in our minds. However, there is the potential for further development of the harbour to incorporate a marina, which should be looked at seriously by the steering group.
‘The size and shape of the proposed improvement scheme is still very much up for debate and would be subject to economic and environmental studies such as wave and coastal processes and flooding impact.’

Minister for Transport, Hon. David Anderson added:

‘I can assure the residents of Port St Mary that this is a fresh start in the relationship between the people of Port St Mary and the Department. We undertake not to pursue any planning application without the political support from southern MHKs.’

The membership of the Port St Mary Harbour Improvement Scheme Group is:

Department of Transport:

Captain Michael Brew, Director of Harbours – Chairman

Manx Fish Producers Organisation:

Mr Tom Bryan-Brown Chief Executive

Mr Ian Skelly

Isle of Man Yacht Club:

Mr Andy Roy, Commodore

Mr Philip Scott, Sailing Secretary

Mr Michael Kneale

Mannin Angling Club:

Mrs Linda Hughes, Secretary

Mr David Ogden


Mr Andrew Clift, Divisional Inspector

Port St Mary Commissioners:

Mr Brian Kelly, Clerk

Mr Alec Merchant, Commissioner

Tynwald Members for Rushen:

Mr Quintin Gill MHK

Mr Juan Watterson, MHK

Hon Philip Gawne, MHK

The next meeting is scheduled for mid-April and it is expected to take about a year to finalise the plan. Additional organisations will be invited to attend as members as deemed appropriate by the Group. Also, organisations and individuals may be invited on an ad hoc basis to address particular issues as necessary.

More stories >>>  

Related News Articles
Public Notice: Isle of Man Water and Sewerage Authority 20 March 2013
From the 1st April 2013, the Isle of Man Water and Sewerage Authority (the Authority) will assume responsibility for the public sewer networks serving the catchment areas of Douglas, Peel, Port st Mary and Ramsey. [More]
Let the Night Owl take you home 14 December 2012
This festive season Bus Vannin are at hand to help you get home safe and sound during Christmas and New Year. [More]
Minister Welcomes Committee Recommendations 5 November 2012
Phil Gawne MHK, Minister for DEFA, today confirmed the designation of Baie ny Carrickey as the latest in a network of Isle of Man Marine Protected Areas. [More]
Road Re-surfacing Port St Mary 17 August 2012
The Department is commencing road re-surfacing works on Monday 20th August 2012 for 11 days or less if practical. [More]
Wartime at Cregneash 15 August 2012
This weekend, as part of the Island at War event on the Steam Railway, visitors can travel by free vintage bus service from Port Erin and Port St. [More]

Other Guides by Maxima Systems Ltd: Disney World