You are here: Isle of Man > Isle of Man News
Isle of Man News
General News
New Civil Service Commission Announced 2 November 2007

CHIEF Minister Tony Brown MHK has appointed a new membership of the Island’s Civil Service Commission under legislation introduced this year.

The Civil Service Amendment Act 2007 provides for a Commission of up to five members - a chairman and vice-chairman from Tynwald, plus up to three non-Tynwald lay members – all appointed directly by the Chief Minister.

Two of the three members of the previous Commission have been re-appointed to their roles, North Douglas MHK John Houghton as chairperson and company director Ian Jarritt as a lay member. They are joined by new members Dudley Butt MLC as vice-chairperson along with Charles Wilson, a human resources and management consultant, and Geoff Crowe, a chartered accountant, as lay members.

Under the new legislation the Chief Secretary is no longer a member of the Commission but attends its meetings as an advisor.

The appointments are for a four year period effective from November 1, 2007.

More stories >>>  

Other Guides by Maxima Systems Ltd: Disney World