Tuesday, August 20, 2019
You are here: Isle of Man > Isle of Man News
Isle of Man News
General News
Schools win swimming trophies 21 May 2009

THE annual Dolphin Trophy Swimming Galas took place on Wednesday (20 May) at the NSC, Douglas.

Thirty one schools participated in 4 galas – for small, medium and large schools (1) and (2).

The two longest serving members of the Board of Education, Raina Chatel, who has served for 27 years, and Betty Deans, who has been a member for 22 years, presented the trophies to the first and second-placed teams.

Bunscoill Ghaelgagh - small schools winner

In the small schools’ section, the winner for the first time ever was Bunscoill Ghaelgagh, with 69 points. Swimming for Bunscoill were Harry Hewson, Maia Corlett, Juan Joughin, Isla Callister-Wafer, Harry Peake, Imogen Skillicorn, Affrica Bethune and Wilf Hewson.

Second in the small schools’ section with 67 points was St Thomas’s CofE Primary School and taking part were Patrick Cox, Mia Greenwood, Jacob Preston, Alice Bell, Thomas Evans, Freya Cullen, Matthew Shopland, Aisha Jepson, Matthew Naylor and Justine Radcliffe.

Andreas Primary School took the honours in the medium schools’ section, with a team comprising Jack Kneen, Erin Millar, Erik Millar, Tara Cunningham, Oliver Grice, Kaitlyn Convery, Jack Kinrade, Monique Lloyd-Davies, Cameron Dunnigan, Beatrice Taylor, Liam Blevins and Kate Jauncey. They scored 84 points.

Andreas Primary School - medium schools winner

In second place, just one point behind, was Kewaigue Primary School. Swimming for Kewaigue were Dan Watterson, Scarlett Kneen, Elliot Parker, Phoebe Gregg, Michael Moss, Erika Larsen, Brody Hewison, Jenny Walker, James Kneen, Livvy Hewins, Jack Kelly and Tori Wright.

Scoill Vallajeelt - large schools winner

A score of 90 saw the Scoill Vallajeelt team triumph in the first of the large schools’ contests. The team was made up of Hannah Millard, Luke Annett, Victoria Watson, Matthew Kneale, Elizabeth Holden, Duncan Wilson, Alexandra Burns, Adam Crossley, Anna Hall, James Hansford, Cara Bregazzi and Connor Duggua.

Buchan School was second with 78 points. Harry Ashley, Sophie Alton-Heath, Ben Kebbell, Rio Hall, Jacob Hempsall, Reya Govender, Joseph Bowes, Georgia Seaward, Eoghain Sherrard, Jessica Smallwood, Julian Van Veen and Erin Snape swam for the Buchan.

In the second of the large schools’ galas, Scoill Ree Gorree continued its predecessor Albert Road Junior School’s long winning record, taking the trophy with 91 points. Swimming for Scoill Ree Gorree were Flynn Allinson, Catreena Crowe, Jamie Corlett, Nicole Pressley, Joshua Corteen, Amy Bell, Ciaran Leece, Caroline Bazambanza, Conall Jacques, Caitlin Barlow, Eoin Thomas and Domenica Tramontata.

Scoill Ree Gorree - large schools winner

Second with 72 points was St Mary’s RC Primary School. The team comprised Peter Castellucci, Tara Donnelly, Tom Jarvis, Lucy Knox, Christopher Walmsley, Ciara Cassidy, Thomas Walmsley, Gemma Dowling, Lewis Bridson, Rebecca Morrison, Jake Garvey and Roisin Ashley.

Impressive silver trophies will be held by the four winning schools for a year and all the swimmers taking part will receive certificates.

The Department’s thanks go to the young swimmers and their teachers for their high standard of competition and to officials from the Isle of Man Swimming Association for their efficient running of the event as well as to the many individuals who helped on the day. Thanks also go to the NSC staff and management and Isle of Man Transport and Protours.

More stories >>>  

Related News Articles
Island’s youth skipping towards healthy futures 13 June 2012
The Department of Health will hold its sixth Annual Celebration of Skipping Event on 22 June 2012 at the National Sports Centre (NSC), Douglas, from 10: [More]
Swimming the Channel in the NSC raises £650 for charity 15 December 2011
A swimmer has raised £650 for charity by swimming the equivalent of the English Channel in the National Sports Centre pool in Douglas. [More]
Refurbished indoor bowls facility at NSC 9 November 2011
Both recreational and competitive bowlers are enjoying the newly refurbished indoor bowls facility at the National Sports Centre, Douglas. [More]
More than 200 take part in Primary Schools Badminton Festival 9 November 2011
The Department of Community, Culture and Leisure’s Sports Development Unit staged the Primary Schools Badminton Festival at the National Sports Centre, Douglas, on Thursday (3 November 2011). [More]
NSC re-opens after hosting CYG 13 September 2011
Following the Commonwealth Youth Games the National Sports Centre in Douglas is getting back to normal with the first facilities re-opening to the public this evening (Tuesday). [More]

Other Guides by Maxima Systems Ltd: Disney World