Saturday, November 17, 2018
You are here: Isle of Man > Attractions > Races > TT Races
Practice Week: May 26th - June 1st 2012
Race Week: June 2nd - June 8th 2012

TT News

Monday Practice 1 June 2009

Monday evening's qualifying session was held in dry, bright and warm conditions with the Island continuing to bask in tropical like temperatures although this also meant the vast amount of flies were again a major problem for the riders. Just like Saturday, the strong sun was again a significant hazard.

Once more there was a delay, this time for marshals being moved around the course but at 6.40pm, three remaining Sidecar newcomers were despatched for their sighting lap with German solo rider Rico Penzkofer following shortly afterwards.

At 7pm, Ian Hutchinson and Michael Rutter led off the line, both on their Superbikes, and they were followed in pairs by Cameron Donald and Bruce Anstey, Steve Plater and Guy Martin and Ian Lougher and Gary Johnson. John McGuinness was in the 7th pairing with Mats Nilsson, the latter on his Supersport machine. Plater was also on his Supersport bike whilst Donald, Johnson, Martin were out on their Superstock. James Hillier, fourth in the Superstock race at Thruxton on Sunday, was out on the Buildbase Kawasaki for his first TT lap of 2009.

News soon came through that Hutchinson had stopped at Ballacraine and was making his own way back but it was Bruce Anstey who completed a lap first at 122.471mph with Guy Martin going slightly quicker at 122.823mph. However, it was Ryan Farquhar who was quickest on the first lap at 124.44mph, the Dungannon rider reporting the Alfs Motorcycles Kawasaki was working well.

John McGuinness was slightly slower at 124.35mph with Michael Rutter pulling in after the gear lever broke at Crosby leaving him stuck in 6th gear for the remainder of the lap. Hutchinson returned via the back roads and went back out on his Superstock machine.

On the 2nd lap though, McGuinness was on a flyer and he shot to the top of the leaderboard with an average speed of 128.067mph, Adrian Archibald and Conor Cummins slotting in to second and third at 126.743mph and 126.167mph respectively. Guy Martin was getting in to the groove with two laps in excess of 125mph as was Gary Johnson who lapped slightly slower. Michael Dunlop was going well on his 600 at 122.158mph a time bettered slightly by Hutchinson and Farquhar at 122.631mph and 122.433mph.

Newcomer Luis Carreira was the quickest of the first timers at 113.348mph with Michal Dopukil also going great guns at 110.121mph.

In the F2 Sidecars, Nick Crowe/Mark Cox led the field away followed by Dave Molyneux/Dan Sayle with John Holden/Andy Winkle jumping ahead of Tim Reeves/Patrick Farrance. Molyneux was quickest at 114.697mph but Crowe again failed to register a time.

Tonights times mean that its McGuinness and Molyneux who are making the early running for the Graham London Watches, awarded to the fastest solo and sidecar pair.

More stories >>>

Back to TT Races

Other Guides by Maxima Systems Ltd: Disney World