Wednesday, November 21, 2018
You are here: Isle of Man > Attractions > Races > TT Races
Practice Week: May 26th - June 1st 2012
Race Week: June 2nd - June 8th 2012

TT News

Entries Close Next Week 19 March 2004

Entries for the 2004 TT officially close next Friday and the exacting process of sorting out acceptances and riding numbers will then begin. The race programme is similar to that of last year, with two open races, two production races, two sidecar races, a Junior 600, a Lightweight 400 and an Ultra Lightweight 125. However, the main open races will be over four laps instead of six this year, though ironically last year's Senior was run over four laps anyway, as even a day's postponement was unable to prevent further delay due to bad weather.

Last year's Formula One and Senior race winner Adrian Archibald from Ballymoney is the top solo star notified so far. The 34-year-old joiner is down to ride Temple Auto Salvage Suzukis in four races - the Formula One, Senior and both Production classes. His team mate this year will be New Zealand's Bruce Anstey, who has also has two TT wins to his credit - the 2002 250cc Lightweight and last year's 600cc Junior.

Also entered is Nigel Davies and past sidecar winners Roy Hanks from Birmingham and Dave Wells from York. They are entered on a Dave Molyneux-constructed chassis outfit and are presently sixth in the all-time fastest list at 109.22mph set in 2002.

Also set to ride are last year's overall sidecar winners Nick Crowe and Darren Hope from Jurby. They will drive a 600cc Honda-engined DMR outfit with the ambition of lapping at over 110mph. They did 109.23mph last year, putting them fifth fastest behind Dave Molyneux/Craig Hallam (112.76), Rob Fisher/Rick Long (111.58), Ian Bell/Neil Carpenter (110.81) and Gary Horspole/Kevin Leigh (109.75). Also entered from the three-wheel ranks are Ben Dixon and Mark Lambert from Wymondham, Norfolk. They will campaign a Molyneux-chassis outfit and hope to move up from their 10th place on the fastest ever leaderboard which was gained by a 108.18mph lap two years ago.

Other notable entries include Bruno Bonhuil and Maria Costello. Frenchman Bruno is a former world endurance champion who relishes riding the Mountain Course and has lapped well under 20 minutes. Maria is bidding to overtake Sandra Barnett as the fastest female around Snaefell. During last year's Senior Manx Grand Prix Maria did 113.32mph and needs to find a further 6.6 seconds if she is to take over the mantle.

Besides Bruno Bonhuil, other foreign interest is encouraging, with entries so far from Guiseppe Barichetti and Giorgio Cantalupo from Italy; Thierry Demoly, Serge Le Noel, Etienne Godart, and sidecar pairings Kestlez/Verune and Pascal Hachet/Rene Geffray from France; Manfred Vogl, Alex Rauch and sidecar pairing Max Venus/Gerhard Werkstetter from Germany; Filip Strbat from Switzerland; Mirko Kalsek from Slovenia; and Mark Brady from Australia.

In addition to Maria Costello, the female ranks will be represented by Anita Buxton and Carolynn Sells (solos) and an all-women sidecar pairing of Ruth Laidlow from Alness and Helen Sutherland from Stelmolie, Ayrshire. The latter are bidding to be the first female pairing to finish a TT.

Female sidecar passengers include Fiona Baker-Milligan from Kendal (driven by Mick Harvey from Goole) and Helen Howard (nee Rathgay) from Reading (to be driven by Andy King from Melksham).

Participants in the Classic lap of Honour this year will have an opportunity for a further outing than just the one on the TT Course. Arrangements are being put in place for a demonstration run on the closed roads of the Billown Course near Castletown in conjunction with the next day's Steam Packet Company national races on Saturday June 12th. There will also be a concours display in the town square the day afterwards.

More stories >>>

Back to TT Races

Other Guides by Maxima Systems Ltd: Disney World