Monday, October 22, 2018
You are here: Isle of Man > Attractions > Races > TT Races
Practice Week: May 26th - June 1st 2012
Race Week: June 2nd - June 8th 2012

TT News

French Contigent Continues to Grow 26 March 2004

Entries officially close today, though no doubt there will be the usual weekend's grace allowed for latecomers. The French contingent has certainly continued to grow, with at least 13 solo riders and six sidecar crews set to take part. Bruno Bonhuil, the 2002 World Endurance Champion, heads the ranks, saying he is very much looking forward to riding in the Island again.

Also riding again is computer scientist Marc Dufour, along with last year's best French newcomer Nicolas Servigne, who is a butcher by trade. Other solo riders include Fabrice Miguet, Thierry Demoly, Serge LeNoel, Etienne Godart, Jean-Michel Salvaia, Jerome Faveyrial and Laurent Astier, who at home sometimes rides sidecar races with his sister as passenger.

However, most attention is likely to surround French female solo rider Fabienne Migout. Other foreign interest comes from the return of talented Japanese rider Jun Maeda, Umberto Rumiano from Italy, Thomas Montano, Craig McLean and Wade Boyd over again from the USA joined by Todd Welch, and Geert Lambrechts from Belgium.

Top stars include last year's 125cc winner Chris Palmer from Castletown, 400cc lap record holder Ryan Farquhar from Dungannon, and eight-times former sidecar winner Manxman Dave Molyneux, this year passengered by Daniel Sayle from Jurby.

The Irish contingent will be well represented by Adrian Archibald and Ryan Farquhar as their leading aces. Also down to ride are Raymond Porter, Kenneth McCrae, Davy Morgan, John Burrows, Alex Donaldson, Victor Gilmore, Nigel Moore and Liam Quinn.

Although the Formula One and Senior races have been reduced from six laps to four this year, successful competitors will not miss out on prize money. The cash formerly spread over the six laps has been redistributed over the four laps. Each carries a total of 72,500, with additional awards of 3,500 each time as well as a further 10,000 for the best aggregate performance. As usual, the main money will be won by those who take the top 20 places, with a start-to-finish leader able to win 20,000 each time. The final lap will carry the bigger stakes than previously, with 18,300 instead of 16,000 for the winner, and proportionately increased sums down to 12th place.

Each sidecar race will have prize money totalling 35,375. The Lightweight 400cc and Ultra-Lightweight 125cc will carry 17,350 apiece, the Production 1000cc 40,100, the Production 600 27,500 and the Junior 600cc 45,050. In addition, there will be 200 starting money to each competitor or crew in each of the eight races potentially totalling a further 120,000, thus making a grand total of 367,850 for the meeting!

It's a busy place at the Grandstand Headquarters of the Manx MCC, for entries are also currently being taken for their Manx Grand Prix meeting, the closing date for which is Senior TT Day Friday June 11. Competitors in the TT may ride in the Manx provided they have only contested the TT Production races and/or the Senior TT on production machinery. Others can opt for the Classic MGP, though are usually not yet attracted to such racing. Recent exceptions include Bud Jackson, Chris McGahan and Nick Jefferies.

The Classic Racing Machine Concours Display on Sunday June 13th will take place at the TT Grandstand, not Castletown Square as stated earlier. Allied activities include the TTRA AGM at the Masonic Hall, Douglas, on Wednesday June 9th at seven o'clock and the Post-Classic Parade Dinner and Medals Presentation at the newly-refurbished 15million Villa Marina at eight o'clock on Senior TT night. Tickets for the latter can be obtained at the TTRA 38th Milestone Office at the Grandstand or by contacting the honorary secretary, Mrs Frances Thorp, 01624-843695 or e-mail her at

More stories >>>

Back to TT Races

Other Guides by Maxima Systems Ltd: Disney World