Wednesday, January 16, 2019
You are here: Isle of Man > Attractions > Races > TT Races
Practice Week: May 26th - June 1st 2012
Race Week: June 2nd - June 8th 2012

TT News

Ten Past Winners to Compete 30 April 2004

Ten past winners, four current lap record holders and 18 former Manx Grand Prix winners are included in the line-up for this year's TT, practising for which begins four weeks tomorrow.

The ten past TT winners are: Dave Molyneux (8), Ian Lougher (6), Robert Dunlop (5), John McGuinness (3), Bruce Anstey (2), Shaun Harris (2), Adrian Archibald (2) Ian Bell (1), Roy Hanks (1) and Chris Palmer (1).

The four current lap record holders are: Ian Lougher (Production 600), Ryan Farquhar (Junior 600), Chris Palmer (Ultra Lightweight 125) and Dave Molyneux (Sidecar). In addition John McGuinness is the Lightweight 250 lap record holder, though the class was subsequently discontinued after 2002.

Former winners of the Manx Grand Prix include: Richard Britton, Gordon Blackley, Colin Breeze, Alan Bennie, Nigel Beattie, Gary Carswell, Paul Duckett, Robert Dunlop, Ryan Farquhar, Jason Griffiths, Ian Hutchinson, Paul Hunt, Andy Jackson, Bud Jackson, Norman Kneen, Mark Parrett, Raymond Porter, Roy Richardson and Barry Wood. Strangely, only one of the ten past TT winners competing this year won the Manx Grand Prix in their early days. Robert Dunlop won the 1983 Junior Newcomers, with Steve Hislop second and Ian Lougher third!

Bud Jackson is set to defy critics who said his racing was over after a horrendous crash at Scarborough last year. The Kendal man was forced to wear a neck-and-head brace for months which many said was an improvement to his appearance. Seriously though, he is making a remarkable comeback and his many fans will welcome him back to the Mountain Course where he rode so well in the 2003 TT and previously won the MGP four times.

James Crumpton is another who is making a welcome return. Last year he was forced to walk disconsolately around the paddock after failing to win medical clearance following major head surgery. But he is now recovered and looking forward to rejoining battle with Chris Palmer, Ian Lougher, Michael Wilcox and company in the Ultra Lightweight 125 class.

The rider who electrified early season meetings last year before coming to grief at Iron Gate in the Southern 100, Guy Martin, has opted to by-pass the Manx Grand Prix and go straight into the TT. He was entered for last year's Manx, but the injuries from the crash at Billown prevented him from coming to the line. He could have retained his MGP newcomer status for this year, but obviously feels he would now benefit from moving straight into the international arena.

2002 World Sidecar Champions Klaus Klaffenbock and Christian Parzer remain hopeful of making their TT debut. They have taken possession of the Yamaha-engined Molyneux-chassised outfit upon which Ian Bell won the first race last year, and are currently refurbishing it. The 600cc Formula Two specification is, of course, a world away from the World Championship craft he has been used to for the past few years.

The on-bike transponders which threw up a few problems on their TT debut last year have been officially tested and given a clean bill of health. Their operation has been uprated, and a fleet of bikes ridden by local enthusiasts gave them a system shake-down on open roads last weekend. The feedback was fully monitored at the Grandstand. The pick-up points are Glen Helen, Ballaugh Bridge, Ramsey Hairpin, the Bungalow, Cronk-ny-Mona and the Start-and-Finish line.

As part of the celebrations of Jim Redman's 50th year of road racing, the Honda Collection Hall of Tokyo are sending a fully factory-prepared Honda Six for the Southern Rhodesian to ride in the TT Classic Parade on Friday June 11th. He was among works riders who rode the 250cc and 297cc bikes at the TT, including Mike Hailwood, Stuart Graham and Ralph Bryans.

More stories >>>

Back to TT Races

Other Guides by Maxima Systems Ltd: Disney World