Wednesday, November 21, 2018
You are here: Isle of Man > Attractions > Races > TT Races
Practice Week: May 26th - June 1st 2012
Race Week: June 2nd - June 8th 2012

TT News

New Sidecar Lap Record 1 June 2004

Tuesday Evening June 1

Dave Molyneux and Dan Sayle unofficially broke the sidecar lap record when they lapped in 20 minutes four seconds, an average speed of 112.81mph. That was half-a-second inside the record held by Molyneux and Craig Hallam from 1999, though it is unofficial within practising periods.

Fastest solo of the night was John McGuinness (Yamaha) from Morecambe. He lapped in 18 minutes 00.2 seconds, an average speed of 125.74mph. That was 13.2 seconds quicker than Bruce Anstey had done on Monday. McGuinness also headed the Lightweight 400 and Junior 600 classes.

Formula One
Behind McGuinness came Ian Lougher (Honda) 18m-17s 123.82mph and Jason Griffiths (Yamaha) 18m 40.5s 121.22mph.

Lightweight 400cc
Fastest was McGuinness (Honda) 20m 46.1s 109.00mph. Second Richard Britton (Honda0 20m 56.0s 108.14mph. Third Philip Stewart (Yamaha) 21m 08.8s 107.05mph.

Ultra Lightweight 125cc
Fastest was Robert Dunlop (Honda) 20m 45.2s 109.08mph. Second Matt Jackson (Honda) 21m 31.2s 105.20mph. Third Ian Lougher (Honda) 21m 33s 105.05mph.

Production 1000cc
Fastest was Bruce Anstey (Suzuki) 18m 34.7s 121.85mph. Second Adrian Archibald (Suzuki) 18m 36.8s 121.62mph. Third Ian Lougher (Honda) 18m 41.7s 121.09mph.

Junior 600cc
Fastest was John McGuinness (Yamaha) 18m 40.2s 121.25mph. Second Richard Britton (Honda) 18m 45.3s 120.70. Third Adrian Archibald (Suzuki) 18m 52.7s 119.92mph.

Production 600
Fastest was Bruce Anstey (Suzuki) 19m 08.0s 118.32mph. Second Ryan Farquhar (Kawasaki) 19m 09.7 118.14mph. Third Chris Heath (Yamaha) 19m 25.4s 116.55mph.

Second to Molyneux and Sayle were Ian Bell and Craig Hallam (Yamaha) 20m 25.3s 110.85mph. Third Roy Hanks and Dave Wells (Yamaha) 21m 08.2s 107.10mph.

All four incidents came in the sidecar class. Rene Gaffray was taken to hospital after falling out of the outfit driven by Pascal Hachet at Creg-ny-Baa. Ian Conn fell out of Robert Verrier’s chair at Glentramman. He climbed back on and continued, later being checked at the paddock. Tony Thirkell and Roy King spilled at Cruickshanks but were uninjured. Claude Montagnier and Laurent Astier crashed at Ballacraine, continued but were black flagged at Kirk Michael. They were allowed to crack on but then went on to clip the wall at Ginger Hall and were black flagged for a second time and halted altogether at Ramsey.

More stories >>>

Back to TT Races

Other Guides by Maxima Systems Ltd: Disney World