Thursday, November 15, 2018
You are here: Isle of Man > Attractions > Races > TT Races
Practice Week: May 26th - June 1st 2012
Race Week: June 2nd - June 8th 2012

TT News

Inconsistent Weather for Monday Practice 28 May 2007

The riders were hit with an evening of inconsistent weather conditions for the first timed Bennetts TT practice session. After a delayed start, the session got underway at 6.30. Ryan Farquhar and Ian Lougher were first out with Lougher immediately taking advantage of the dry conditions.

John McGuinness posted the fastest time of the evening on his HM Plant Superbike, with 124.983 on his second lap out. There were other notable performances from Ian Hutchinson (123.558) and Martin Finnegan (122.118). Ian Hutchinson also scored the fastest time through the Unisys Speed trap at Sulby, recording 192mph.

In the Supersport class, Manxman Conor Cummins recorded the fastest time of the night with a blistering 120.053, followed by Chris Palmer and Ian Lougher while New Zealander Bruce Anstey on the Relentless TAS Suzuki was fastest in the Superstock class at 121.350mph.

In the sidecars, the three remaining newcomers who had not completed a lap in Saturday's first practice went out behind Roy Hanks on a controlled lap. After a 10 minute gap, Dave Molyneux/Rick Long and Klaus Klaffenbock/Christian Parzer set off. In improving conditions, Nick Crowe and Dan Sayle lapped at 113.988mph. There were also notable performances from John Holden/Andrew Winkle (110.509mph) and Klaus Klaffenbock/Christian Parzer (109.483mph).

Marc Ramsbotham has been taken to hospital for an X-ray after a spill at Water Works and Ian Armstrong is reported as having an elbow injury following an incident at Laurel Bank. In the sidecars Andy King/Steve Pooley came off at the 32nd and have arm and hand injuries respectively.

Earlier in the day thousands of spectators lined the original St Johns TT course to celebrate the 100th anniversary. At exactly 10am, the start time a hundred years ago, Geoff Duke OBE unveiled plaque commemorating the anniversary and 100 pre-1940 bikes, including the original winning Norton V-twin ridden by Rem Fowler, started a parade lap. It was fitting that the 1907 machine, this time ridden by George Cohen, again came home first, followed shortly after by Guy Martin.

More stories >>>

Back to TT Races

Other Guides by Maxima Systems Ltd: Disney World