Wednesday, June 19, 2019
You are here: Isle of Man > Attractions > Races > TT Races
Practice Week: May 26th - June 1st 2012
Race Week: June 2nd - June 8th 2012

TT News

First TT Win for Hutchinson 6 June 2007

Ian Hutchinson took his first ever TT victory when he claimed today's dramatic and record-breaking PokerStars Supersport race by just 2.84 seconds. The HM Plant Honda rider seized control at half race distance when early leader Bruce Anstey's Suzuki refused to fire as he left the pits and the Bingley rider needed no second invitation. The race went all the way to the chequered flag though and no less than ten seconds covered the top four with John McGuinness taking second once more, this time on the Padgett's Honda, ahead of Guy Martin (Hydrex Honda) and Anstey. All four riders broke the old lap record with Martin taking it on the final lap at 125.161mph.

It was Anstey who set the pace in the early stages and with two lap records in the first two laps, including the first ever 125mph lap on a 600cc machine, he seemingly had the race under control. His advantage was always slight though but as he came into the pits he was four and a half seconds ahead of McGuinness with Hutchinson seven seconds back in third. Martin was less than half a second adrift in fourth but two riders already out of luck were Adrian Archibald and Michael Rutter who were forced to retire on the first and second laps respectively.

As the riders left the pits, Anstey's machine refused to start and it took almost the entire length of pit lane before it chimed into life. He had lost 23 seconds in total but it was Hutchinson who was now in the lead with his team getting him in and out quicker than the opposition and he was now seven seconds in the lead. McGuinness was still in second with Martin promoted to third and the luckless Anstey down in fourth.

The Kiwi clawed back Hutchinson's advantage on the road but he was unable to make any further ground so all eyes were now focused on the three way dice for the lead. Matching each other at each section of the course, it was only on the Mountain run that McGuinness was able to make any impression but as they went into their final lap Hutchy still held sway by 5 seconds.

It was a similar story on the final lap and McGuinness, Anstey and Martin broke the lap record in quick succession but Hutchinson's final lap of 124.483mph was enough to see him take his first TT win, firmly vindicating Honda's decision to sign him in the close season. McGuinness had to accept second behind his close friend whilst Martin got his second podium of the week just ahead of Anstey.

The next few places were also hotly contested and there was Manx joy with Nigel Beattie taking fifth ahead of his young teammate Conor Cummins. Ryan Farquhar had held onto fifth in the early laps but he dropped back to seventh defeating the sensational Steve Plater by less than half a second. Chris Palmer had a great ride into ninth with Ian Lougher rounding out the top ten. There were again excellent performances by Keith Amor and Jimmy Moore with the pairing taking 12th and 15th respectively, the Scotsman also setting the fifth fastest lap of the race.

More stories >>>

Back to TT Races

Other Guides by Maxima Systems Ltd: Disney World