You are here: Isle of Man > Isle of Man News
Isle of Man News
General News
The annual Primary School’ Chess Congress took place at Rushen Primary School on Saturday. 13 February 2012

SPLM winners, reserves and organisersEleven schools – Arbory, Ashley Hill, Buchan, Cronk-y-Berry, Fairfield, Foxdale, Laxey, Peel, Phurt le Moirrey, Rushen and Victoria Road – took part, each entering a team of six, with their players ranked in order, and they took part in three hours’ challenging chess.

The winning school, awarded the Bob Kermeen Trophy, was Scoill Phurt le Moirrey, which beat Buchan School by just half a point in a last-game finale.

The individual Chess Champion, Louis Scott, from the Buchan School, was presented with the Tom Karen Trophy.

The youngest players in each team also played each other to see who was the best young player. The winner receives the Henry Krebs Memorial Cup, sponsored by Ruth Coombes in memory of her dad, who was a keen player. Adam Roberts, from Scoill Phurt le Moirrey, claimed the cup this year.

The congress was the 41st. The event has been held at Rushen Primary School for the past 13 years (prior to that it was run at Onchan School).

For the last 19 years the competition has been organised by Tom Thomson, Headteacher at Rushen, and adult Island chess players act as adjudicators led by Harry Minor, Congress Controller, who is one of the top chess players in the British Isles.

Many of the adjudicators played in the congress when they were at primary school.

Caaden Lunn, from Victoria Road Primary, won a reserves competition organised by Simon Jones, Headteacher at Peel Clothworkers’ Primary.

The Rotary Club of Onchan has generously sponsored the event for many years, Arthur Taggart (a retired headteacher) representing it on the day and presenting the prizes along with Juan Watterson, Rushen MHK and a keen chess player.

Mr Thomson said:

‘It was a great morning and all the children did themselves proud. Many thanks to the Island chess club players who adjudicated, Harry Minor for being the controller, the team managers and the children’s parents.’

Photo captions:

SPLM winners: The winning team, plus reserves, from Scoill Phurt le Moirrey with, from left, congress organiser Tom Thomson, Juan Watterson MHK, Arthur Taggart and Harry Minor

Best young player: Adam Roberts, of Scoill Phurt le Moirrey, with, from left, Juan Watterson MHK, Arthur Taggart and Tom Thomson

Louis Scott: Chess champion Louis Scott, a pupil at the Buchan School, with, from left, Juan Watterson MHK, Tom Thomson, Arthur Taggart and Harry Minor, Congress Controller

Caaden Lunn: Caaden Lunn, of Victoria Road Primary School, winner of the reserves competition organised by Simon Jones (left), Headteacher of Peel Clothworkers’ School. Also pictured: Tom Thomson, Juan Watterson MHK, Arthur Taggart and Harry Minor

More stories >>>  

Related News Articles
School closures latest 22 March 2013
Due to road conditions the following schools will be closed: [More]
School’s buddy scheme attracts sponsorship 22 February 2013
A BUDDYING scheme operating at Peel Clothworkers’ Primary School has a new friend itself after a local company pledged its support. [More]
New headteacher for Peel Clothworkers' Primary School 20 February 2013
THE Department of Education and Children is pleased to announce that Anna Jackson has been appointed headteacher of Peel Clothworkers’ Primary School with effect from September 2013. [More]
Iconic Heritage Sites Open Winter Weekends 11 January 2013
For some great days out this winter, Peel Castle, Laxey Wheel and Castle Rushen are open to the public for weekends from 9 February 2013. [More]
More IOM based higher education students than ever to Graduate at 2012 Annual Awards Ceremony 18 October 2012
At the Awards Ceremony at St German’s Cathedral in Peel on 19 October 74 students will receive higher education awards in a range of subjects, including two first class honours degrees in Computer Sciences and the first two graduates of the Work Based and Integrative Studies degree programme. [More]

Other Guides by Maxima Systems Ltd: Disney World