You are here: Isle of Man > Information > Government


Immigration Details for the Isle of Man

The Isle of Man is a part of the British Isles Common Travel Area. This area includes England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland, the Republic of Ireland, the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man.

There are no immigration controls when travelling between any of the areas in the Common Travel Area and as such a passport is not required to enter the Isle of Man.

Travellers heading to the Isle of Man from outside the Common Travel Area will almost certainly reach either the UK or Republic of Ireland first and their immigration will be handled at that point.

At the current time British and European Economic Area nationals wishing to reside permanently in the Isle of Man do not require a visa, however they will probably require work permits. In recent years legislation has been passed which allows the Isle of Man Government to prevent the uncontrolled settling of British and EEA nationals, but this has yet to be made use of.

Other nationals wishing to settle in the Isle of Man should make an application to their local British Embassy, High Commission or Consulate which will send the application to the Isle of Man for a decision. The immigration requirements of the Isle of Man are very similar to those of the UK.

Related News Articles

More >>>
Other Guides by Maxima Systems Ltd: Disney World